Board of County Commissioners

Jackson County logoLocated in the Jackson County Administration Building
2864 Madison Street
Marianna, Florida 32448
Telephone: (850) 482- 9633
Fax: (850) 482- 9643
(Disclaimer: Meeting dates are subject to change depending on the holidays and conference attendance by Board members. Please also keep in mind that the deadline for agenda items is Tuesday at 4:30p.m. before each meeting.)


Board Meeting Minutes

Archived Agendas

The Board of County Commissioners serves as the the governing body of Jackson County Government. The Commission is elected to establish policy through the adoption of ordinances and resolutions, and is responsible for placing in effect the powers conferred by the Resolution that created the Government of Jackson County; and for the promotion and protection of the safety, health, peace, security, and general welfare through ordinances, resolutions, rules, and regulations.

Jackson County Commissioners

The Commission has the power to levy taxes and adopt budgets. It is the responsibility of the Commission to give thoughtful consideration to proposals and opportunities for the community, create and support programs and initiatives that will benefit Jackson County in the future, oversee the appropriation and use of public funds, and ensure the cost efficient and effective delivery of quality services to every citizen and entity in a fair and equitable manner.

The government is a political subdivision of the State of Florida governed by a commission-manager form of government under which a five member Board of County Commissioners is elected to serve as the legislative body for the county. The commission is elected by geographical districts in which they reside. Elections for the district seats are staggered four year terms, so as to provide some continuity on the Board of Commissioners. District 1, 3 and 5 are elected and two years later, District 2 and 4 are elected.


The Board of Commissioners' meetings are held the second and fourth Tuesday of each month. The second Tuesday meeting begins at 9:00 AM and the fourth Tuesday meeting begins at 6:00 PM. These meetings are held in the Board of County Commission Chambers at the Jackson County Administration Building located at 2864 Madison Street.

Search this Site

Adobe Reader

Select information on this site requires Adobe Reader:


get adobe reader


For Employee Use

Legal Review Form


fd-poster 2-400x260







Site Admin Login